Being mum

Pure devotion …

As Poppie has grown the days have definitely become a little tougher as she becomes wiser and is adopting very diva like tendencies. Watching her develop into her own personality is both amazing and testing as she learns how to manipulate situations to her benefit. Although a tiny person, just recently breaking 13lb 7oz, it would be easy to underestimate her powers to influence. Her cheeky looks give her away and slowly I am learning which ones to get on top of. My mother labels me a princess at my ripe age of 31 so I am really not sure how I expected Poppie to be any different.

As her personality grows there are moments of pure sunshine in the day, notwithstanding the fact that she is devoted to me and responds to so many of the little things in the day. I am not really a morning person, but breakfast is becoming a favourite part of our day. Still in my dressing gown, the radio is on and I pull a few shapes in time to the music. In response I receive smiles, sometimes a laugh but best of all the look of complete commitment to the fact that I will provide for her during the day. Poppie really is the best audience I have ever had, watching and laughing at me as I pull funny faces, voices and a few moves.

In September I will return to my day job as a teacher where I constantly attempt to grab a 28 full class of 14 year olds’ attention. With Poppie there is no attempt needed. From moves in the kitchen to silly voices when changing her nappy to peekaboo on her playmat there really is very little effort required. And I love it! Everyone craves a bit of attention from time to time but no one tells you that bringing a new life into the world will result in undivided, devotion. Of course a lot of this comes from the fact that Poppie needs to survive and has worked out that I will provide food for the day, but it is definitely more than that. At the age of 10 months she is working out the world and certain of her mum and dad as her constants.

Being a mother doesn’t come with a text book. Sometimes I find that hard but when I find a funny face or gesture making her laugh it is the best feeling in the world.

Leave a Reply

